Membership Agreement Version: 2018.v3 Dubai Audiobook Library provides accessible electronic books and materials (“Accessible Media”) to individuals with legally-qualifying disabilities. This Membership Agreement sets out the necessary terms governing your use of Dubai Audiobook Library. As a person with a qualifying disability, I hereby agree to the following terms:

  1. The Accessible Media is only for my individual use as a person with a bona fide print disability. I understand that the only reason I’m able to download these copyrighted works is for my personal access to books, newspapers and other materials. I can adapt the content to my personal needs, but I cannot distribute it to other people or organizations, with the exception of hardcopy Braille versions of the books.
  2. Bona fide disabilities are significant disabilities that affect reading, and meet the legal definitions. I represent that I have a significant vision, physical or learning disability that prevents me from reading standard print. I meet the requirements of the copyright exception in my country of residence (for example, in the United States 17 U.S.C. §121) as a person with a print disability and will, before this Agreement becomes effective, provide proof of my disability to Dubai Audiobook Library, either directly or through an organization which assists, such as my school.
  3. I acknowledge I can’t share the Accessible Media with other people. Access to Dubai Audiobook Library books is a privilege, and it is based on a social bargain between the publishers and authors and the disability community. It’s important to not redistribute these Accessible Media to other individuals, regardless of whether or not they would qualify for Dubai Audiobook Library. I agree to use the Accessible Media I obtain from Dubai Audiobook Library solely for my personal use. I won’t share my password with anyone, unless it’s a caregiver, teacher, parent or guardian who agrees to use it solely to help me download my books.
  4. There are consequences for copyright violations, including termination of this account. I acknowledge that Dubai Audiobook Library inserts digital fingerprints (both obvious and hidden) in the Accessible Media I download, to track copyright violations. I agree that I won’t remove these fingerprints. If a copyright violation occurs, Dubai Audiobook Library will discontinue serving me. I acknowledge that violations of copyright law and the terms of this Agreement may subject me and other people committing such violations to civil and criminal liability, and that Dubai Audiobook Library will cooperate with investigations by copyright owners of such violations. If I violate the terms of this Agreement, Dubai Audiobook Library may unilaterally and immediately terminate this Agreement by written or email notice to me. I agree to indemnify and hold harmless Dubai Audiobook Library, Benetech (the nonprofit organization which creates and operates the library technology platform used by Dubai Audiobook Library), their staff, subcontractors, technology suppliers and volunteers, as well as authors and publishers, for any damages, legal fees and costs, as a result of my violations of this Agreement or copyright laws of applicable jurisdictions.
  5. The cost of Dubai Audiobook Library. Dubai Audiobook Library is a subscription library. Unless my subscription costs are being paid for by a third party, I am responsible for payment of my subscription fees to Dubai Audiobook Library.
  6. I will have access to software as part of my Membership. Dubai Audiobook Library may make assistive software available to me for using the Accessible Media, such as talking readers that will display and speak the text aloud to me. I will only use the software for my own use on personal computers I personally use, and I will abide by the terms of the license that comes with such software.
  7. I acknowledge that the books on Dubai Audiobook Library include adult content and scanned books with errors. Dubai Audiobook Library’s volunteers and staff try to accurately label all of the books in the collection, by title, author, adult content status and quality. If I discover an error in such labeling, I can let Dubai Audiobook Library know and they’ll look into it and correct it if they believe it was wrong. When my membership is first set up, lower quality Accessible Media will not be returned in my search results. I can opt in to see these kinds of titles if I wish by changing my account settings. If I am over 18, I can opt out of seeing adult content in my search results. If I am under 18, I may not view adult content unless my parent or guardian agrees in writing.
  8. I acknowledge that there is no warranty by Dubai Audiobook Library, publishers or authors. Dubai Audiobook Library is a socially-oriented activity, not a for-profit activity. Dubai Audiobook Library’s staff, volunteers, authors and publisher partners are all cooperating to help overcome the barriers to access faced by people with disabilities, and most do so without compensation. Therefore, Dubai Audiobook Library doesn’t warrant that the content is error-free or that the Dubai Audiobook Library service will not be interrupted. My only remedy if I’m unhappy is to request a refund for the unused portion of my current annual subscription. If I haven’t paid for a subscription, I won’t get any monetary compensation. I also acknowledge that the vast majority of content on Dubai Audiobook Library is there without the active participation of publishers or authors, so publishers and authors are not responsible for errors or problems with the Accessible Media. In addition, publishers and authors have not waived any of their other legal rights under copyright or other laws by permitting the distribution of Accessible Media owned by them, to people with disabilities.
  9. I agree to a few other important details.
    • This Agreement will automatically renew every 12 months, unless I submit a request in writing or by email to end my subscription and to terminate this agreement. Requests should be submitted to the current contact email or mailing address as noted on the Dubai Audiobook Library website.
    • I understand, however, that all Accessible Media retained by me after termination of this Agreement is still subject to the restrictions on use imposed by copyright laws of my country of residence as long as I retain such Accessible Media.
    • If my subscription is being paid for by a third party, my subscription may end when the funding ends.
    • Dubai Audiobook Library can change the terms of this Agreement on five (5) days written or electronic notice to me. If I do not agree with the new terms, I will have the option to decline and hence terminate my account.
    • This Agreement is governed by the applicable copyright exception, other laws, regulations, and treaties of [country]. This Agreement cannot be changed by oral agreements or assurances of anyone party to it. If I violate its terms, I will be subject to suit to enforce the terms of this Agreement and applicable copyright and other laws.

اتفاقية العضوية الإصدار: 2018.v3 توفر مكتبة دبي السمعية كتباً ومواد إلكترونية ("الوسائط المتاحة") لذوي الهمم الذين يواجهون إعاقات مؤهلة قانونياً. تحدد اتفاقية العضوية هذه الشروط الضرورية التي تحكم استخدامك لمكتبة دبي السمعية.

بصفتي شخصاً يواجه إعاقة مؤهلة، أوافق على البنود التالية:

  1. الوسائط المتاحة لي هي لاستخدامي الشخصي فقط كوني أعاني من إعاقة طباعية حقيقية. أدركُ أن السبب الوحيد الذي يجعلني قادراً على تنزيل الكتب والأعمال المحمية بحقوق الطبع والنشر هو استخدامي الشخصي للكتب والصحف وغيرها من المواد. يمكنني تكييف المحتوى وفقاً لاحتياجاتي الشخصية، ولكن لا يجوز لي توزيعه على أشخاص أو مؤسسات أخرى، باستثناء إصدارات بريل من الكتب المطبوعة.

  2. الإعاقات الحقيقية هي إعاقات كبيرة تؤثر على القراءة وتفي بالتعريفات القانونية. أدّعي أني مصاب بإعاقة بصرية، جسدية أو تعلمية كبيرة تمنعني من قراءة المطبوعات القياسية. إنني أفي بمتطلبات استثناء حقوق التأليف والنشر في بلدي الذي أقيم فيه (على سبيل المثال، 17 U.S.C. §121 في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) كشخص يعاني من صعوبات في قراءة المطبوعات وسوف أقدم، قبل أن تصبح هذه الاتفاقية سارية المفعول، شهادة تثبت إعاقتي إلى مكتبة دبي السمعية، إما مباشرة أو عبر منظمة مساعدة، مثل مدرستي.

  3. أقر بأنه لا يجوز لي مشاركة الوسائط المتاحة مع أشخاص آخرين. يعتبر الوصول إلى الكتب في مكتبة دبي السمعية امتيازاً خاصاً، ويستند ذلك إلى اتفاقية اجتماعية بين الناشرين والمؤلفين ومجتمع ذوي الهمم. ومن المهم عدم إعادة توزيع الوسائط المتاحة لأشخاص آخرين، بغض النظر عما إذا كانوا مؤهلين أو غير مؤهلين لاستخدام مكتبة دبي السمعية. أوافق على استخدام الوسائط التي أحصل عليها من مكتبة دبي السمعية بصورة شخصية حصرياً. لن أشارك كلمة المرور الخاصة بي مع أي شخص، باستثناء مشرف الرعاية، أو المعلم، أو الوالد، أو الوصي الذي يوافق على استخدامها فقط لمساعدتي على تنزيل كتبي.

  4. هناك عواقب لانتهاكات حقوق الطبع والنشر، بما فيها إنهاء حسابي. أقر بأن مكتبة دبي السمعية تدرج بصمات رقمية (واضحة ومخفية) في الوسائط المتاحة التي أقوم بتنزيلها لتتبّع انتهاكات حقوق النشر والطبع. أوافق على عدم إزالة تلك البصمات. وفي حالة حدوث أي انتهاك مني لحقوق الطبع والنشر، فإن مكتبة دبي السمعية سيكون لديها الحق في إغلاق حسابي وحجب خدماتها عني. أقر بأن انتهاكات قانون حقوق الطبع والنشر وشروط هذه الاتفاقية قد تعرضني وغيري من الأشخاص الذين يرتكبون مثل هذه الانتهاكات للمسؤولية المدنية والجنائية، وأن مكتبة دبي السمعية ستتعاون مع أصحاب حقوق النشر بشأن التحقيقات في مثل هذه الانتهاكات. وإذا قمتُ بانتهاك شروط هذه الاتفاقية، يجوز لمكتبة دبي السمعية إنهاء هذه الاتفاقية من جانب واحد وبصورة فورية عن طريق إرسال إشعار مكتوب أو عبر البريد الإلكتروني. أوافق على تعويض وإعفاء مكتبة دبي السمعية ومنظمة Benetech (وهي منظمة غير ربحية تعمل على إنشاء وتشغيل المنصة التقنية التي تستخدمها مكتبة دبي السمعية)، وموظفيها، ومقاوليها الفرعيين، وموفّري الخدمات التقنية، والمتطوعين، وكذلك المؤلفين والناشرين من أي خسارة، ضرر، تكاليف ورسوم قانونية، ناجمة عن مخالفتي لهذه الاتفاقية أو قوانين حقوق الطبع والنشر التي أقرتها السلطات القضائية المختصة.

  5. رسوم مكتبة دبي السمعية. يجب الحصول على اشتراك للاستفادة من خدمات مكتبة دبي السمعية. وما لم يتم دفع تكاليف اشتراكي من قبل طرف ثالث، سأكون مسؤولاً عن دفع رسوم اشتراكي إلى مكتبة دبي السمعية.

  6. يحق لي الوصول إلى البرامج بصفتي عضواً. قد توفر لي مكتبة دبي السمعية برامج مساعدة لاستخدام الوسائط المتاحة مثل القراء المتكلمين الذين سيعرضون ويقرءون لي النص بصوت عالٍ. سأستخدم البرنامج بشكل شخصي على أجهزتي الشخصية فقط، وسألتزم بشروط الترخيص المرفق بهذه البرامج.

  7. أقر بأن الكتب الموجودة في مكتبة دبي السمعية تتضمن محتوى للبالغين وكتباً ممسوحة ضوئية فيها بعض الأخطاء. يحاول متطوعو مكتبة دبي السمعية وموظفوها تصنيف جميع الكتب في المجموعة، حسب العنوان، والمؤلف، وحالة محتوى البالغين والجودة. إذا اكتشفتُ خطأ في هذا التصنيف سأقوم بإبلاغ مكتبة دبي السمعية والتي ستنظر في هذا الأمر وتقوم بتصحيحه إذا اقتنعت بوجود خطأ في التصنيف. عند إنشاء عضويتي لأول مرة، لن تظهر الوسائط المتاحة ذات الجودة الأقل في نتائج البحث الخاصة بي. يمكنني اختيار مشاهدة هذه الكتب إذا كنت أرغب في ذلك عن طريق تغيير إعدادات حسابي. إذا كان عمري يتجاوز 18 عاماً، يمكنني اختيار عدم رؤية محتوى البالغين في نتائج البحث الخاصة بي. أما إذا كان عمري أقل من 18 عاماً، فلا يُسمح لي بمشاهدة محتوى البالغين إلا بموافقة والدي أو ولي أمري على ذلك بشكل خطي.

  8. أﻗرّ بعدم وجود أي ضمان من ﻗﺑل ﻣﮐﺗﺑﺔ دبي السمعية أو الناشرين أو المؤلفين. مكتبة دبي السمعية هي نشاط ذو بُعد اجتماعي، وليست نشاطاً ربحياً. يتعاون جميع موظفي مكتبة دبي السمعية ومتطوعيها ومؤلفيها وشركائها الناشرين للمساعدة في التغلب على العوائق التي يواجهها الأشخاص ذوي الهمم في الاستفادة من المطبوعات، ومعظمهم يفعلون ذلك بلا مقابل. لذا، لا تضمن مكتبة دبي السمعية أن يكون المحتوى خالياً من الأخطاء أو أن خدمة مكتبة دبي السمعية لن تتوقف. الشيء الوحيد الذي يمكنني طلبه إذا لم أكن سعيداً هو استرداد الأموال للجزء غير المستخدم من اشتراكي السنوي الحالي. إذا لم أكن أدفع مقابل الاشتراك، فلن أحصل على أي تعويض مالي. وأقر أيضاً بأن الغالبية العظمى من المحتوى على مكتبة دبي السمعية موجود بدون مشاركة فعلية من الناشرين أو المؤلفين، ولذلك لن يتحمل الناشرون والمؤلفون مسؤولية أي خطأ أو مشكلة في الوسائط المتاحة. إضافة إلى ذلك، لم يتنازل الناشرون والمؤلفون عن أي حق قانوني آخر بموجب حقوق الطبع والنشر أو قوانين أخرى عند السماح بتوزيع الوسائط المتاحة المملوكة من قبلهم على الأشخاص ذوي الهمم.

  9. أوافق على بعض التفاصيل المهمة الأخرى.

    • تتجدد هذه الاتفاقية تلقائياً كل 12 شهراً، ما لم أرسل طلباً كتابياً أو عبر البريد الإلكتروني لإنهاء اشتراكي وإنهاء هذه الاتفاقية. يجب إرسال الطلبات إلى عنوان البريد الإلكتروني المخصص أو العنوان البريدي كما هو مذكور على موقع مكتبة دبي السمعية.
    • أدرك، مع ذلك، أن جميع الوسائط المتاحة التي احتفظت بها بعد إنهاء هذه الاتفاقية لا تزال خاضعة للقيود المفروضة على الاستخدام وفق قوانين حقوق الطبع والنشر المطبقة في البلد الذي أقيم فيه ما دمت احتفظ بهذه الوسائط.
    • إذا كان اشتراكي يُدفع من قبل طرف ثالث، فقد ينتهي اشتراكي عندما ينتهي التمويل.
    • يحق لمكتبة دبي السمعية أن تغير شروط هذه الاتفاقية بعد خمسة أيام من إرسال إشعار إليّ بصورة كتابية أو رسالة إلكترونية. إذا لم أوفق على الشروط الجديدة، سيكون لدي خيار الرفض، وبالتالي إنهاء حسابي.
    • تخضع هذه الاتفاقية لاستثناء قوانين حقوق النشر، إضافة إلى التشريعات واللوائح والمعاهدات المطبقة في (البلد). لا يجوز تغيير هذه الاتفاقية من خلال اتفاقيات شفوية أو تأكيدات من أي طرف فيها. إذا انتهكتُ شروط الاتفاقية، سأواجه دعوى قضائية للامتثال إلى شروطها، إضافة إلى قوانين حقوق النشر، والتشريعات الأخرى المطبقة.